Since time immemorial, the Czech lands have been the crossroads of European cultures. The cultural character of Czech cities, villages and spa towns has always been a source of inspiration to visitors and guests, who come here from all corners of the world. The Czech Republic, among the youngest in the family of European countries, was born on January 1st, 1993, when the Czechoslovak Federal Republic split into two independent states, the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

Since May, 2004, the Czech Republic has been a member of the European Union; it has been a full-fledged NATO member since 2002. (The country has not adopted the Euro yet, however, and still uses its national currency, the Czech crown.)

Even though the Czech Republic’s area of 78,864 square kilometers (about 30,450 square miles) ranks it among small countries, its wealth of natural beauty and monuments of cultural heritage contribute greatly to its global prestige as a major cultural destination.


Geographically, the country and its historical lands (Bohemia, Moravia, and Silesia) are divided into 14 local administrative units controlled by regional administrations.

In addition to the administrative units, there are 14 tourist regions dotted with charming towns, castles and chateaux (the most per square mile of any country in the world!), ancient villages and, of course, many spas, all waiting to be discovered.

The new Czech Republic first appeared on the map at the beginning of 1993, after the division of former Czechoslovakia. It is a landlocked country, situated in the Central Europe. It covers an area of 78,864 km2.


Moderate with four seasons. In winter the weather is variable, in summer it can be very warm.

The average temperature in January, the coldest winter month is -5 degrees Centigrade, in July, the warmest summer month, around +27 degrees Centigrade. 


The total population is 10.3 million. The structure of the population is 94% Czech (including Moravians and Silesians), 3% Slovaks, 1.3% Romany, 0.6% Polish, 0.5% Germans, 0.6% others.


The  language is Czech. Some people also speak German and English.


GMT +1, the same as in Western Europe.

Official holidays

  January - New Year’s Day
  Eastern Monday
  1 May - May Day, 8 May - Liberation Day,
  5 July - Day of Cyril and Methodius, 6 - July Jan Hus
 28 September – Saint Wenceslas
 28 October – "Independence Day"
 17 November – Velvet Revolution
 24 December - Christmas Eve, 25 December - Christmas Day, 26 December - Boxing Day